Posted by: vikingsinspace | January 16, 2012

I.4.09.03. Visit Venice

Date Accomplished: April 2003

The Doge's Palace

I have now managed to visit Venice twice.  My first visit came in April of 2003 with my father and two of my uncles, and was notable because it was so cold.  It even snowed while we were there and many of the locals commented on how unusual this was.  On our first day there, we were unprepared for the weather and suffered quite a bit trying to find our hotel among the maze of Venetian streets and canals.

Despite the weather, it was a great short trip, with the highlight of course being the Doge’s Palace and the Basilica de San Marco.  Before coming here, I had known little of Venice’s history, but I was aware of all the treasures that members of the fourth Crusade brought back to Venice after sacking Constantinople in 1204: among them the large gold horses now placed atop the Basilica (which are currently replicas of the real horses which have been moved inside the Basilica to protect them from the elements).

Bridge of Sighs in 2003

Fortunately, we were able to get a good look at the Bridge of Sighs on this trip, because during my second trip (with my girlfriend in 2008), the bridge was covered in scaffolding, undergoing renovations.  We had also failed to see the Rialto Bridge and the Scala Contarini del Bovolo, but my girlfriend and I managed to see those.  On my second visit we stayed on the island of Murano because it was cheaper, and while it was nice to be on the quieter island, it made it a little difficult to stay out late since the last water bus left Venice around 9pm.

Rialto Bridge

One of the things I love the most about Venice is the fact that there are no cars.  One can just wander around in multiple back alleyways and eventually find some form of beautiful architecture or piece of artwork.  Just about any church is worth walking into because they all have fantastic artwork inside.  Despite the one strange cold visit, I think going in April is a good time, as I have been told that its still cold enough for the canals not to smell too bad, but still warm enough to be comfortable (usually), and the city is unlikely to flood in April.  Hopefully i will find more opportunities to go back, as Venice is slowly sinking into the sea, and may not be around for very long.

Scala Contarini del Bovolo

Responses

  1. […] I.4.09.03. __ Venice […]

  2. Venice needs to be visited often. Love the photos!

    • Thanks for the kind words – I intend on going back as often as I can!


Leave a Reply

Categories

