Posted by: vikingsinspace | August 29, 2011

I.2.01.02. Visit Mount Rushmore

Date Accomplished: 1997

Mount Rushmore, Dean Franklin, Wikipedia Commons

I can’t really remember the circumstances which led my father and I to take a trip to Mount Rushmore.  I think my sister and mother were away for a long weekend somewhere, so he and I decided to get out of the house and go someplace neither of us had been before.  It took us about a day to drive from Colorado to South Dakota, during which I got some of my first driving lessons on the back highways (I was only 14 at the time, so I was doing this illegally).

I don’t think I have much to say about the monument, really.  I remember it being smaller than I imagined, but still impressive.  I was a bit shocked to learn that it wasn’t complete, since the design called for each of the presidents’ to be carved down to their wastes.

I know there is controversy surrounding Mount Rushmore, but I didn’t know about its history and the intent of the designer when I visited.  To me it was simply a monument to some of America’s greatest presidents, and was meant to honor the ideals of this nation.  It would be an ideal monument for that purpose, but sadly Mount Rushmore’s history is not a good one.  I’ll simply leave it at that.

Responses

  1. […] I.2.01.02. __ Mount Rushmore […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

