Posted by: vikingsinspace | August 1, 2011

I.4.01.1.03. Visit Nottingham and Sherwood Forest

Date Accomplished: Fall 2002

The Robin Hood Statue Outside Nottingham Castle

My desire to visit Nottingham and Sherwood Forest derived from my love of the Robin Hood stories.  When I was living and studying in Norwich, I planned a long weekend in Nottingham so I could wander around the city, visit the castle, and then get out to Sherwood Forest.  This was the first time I had really traveled by myself in England, and it was an unfortunate place to choose.  At the time (I can speak for what has happened since then), Nottingham was an unpleasant place, and I did not feel safe most of the time I was there.  I opted to stay at a hostel on the outskirts of town which was also an unpleasant experience.  I won’t go into details, but I got little sleep that first night, and left as early as I could the following morning.

The Olde Jerusalem Inn

But before that Happened, I spent the afternoon wandering through the town, staying near the castle and the historic road which runs by it.  The only part of the castle still standing which is from the middle ages is the thirteenth century gate – the remainder is from the seventeenth century (I think…).  I remember the inside of the castle being interesting with a lot of nice art.  Outside, there were a couple of neat medieval buildings, including the Olde Trip to Jerusalem which is the oldest inn in Britain (from the twelfth century).

Sherwood Forest

The next day, I gladly took a bus out to Sherwood Forest.  I remember being the only person on the bus and having a nice conversation with the bus driver, who told me about how they would have Robin Hood festivals in the forest during the summer.  I was glad I had missed this, as I didn’t want to deal with a bunch of people (particularly not those dressed up in silly Robin Hood costumes…).  I was glad to be there in the fall though, because the leaves were changing and it made the forest look all the more beautiful.

Major Oak

I was able to have a nice and quiet walk around the forest, and absolutely loved it.  After dealing with how awful Nottingham was, it was nice to get out into the woods and try to imagine what this place would have looked like years and years ago.  Probably the main site in Sherwood is Major Oak: the tree that was supposedly the meeting point of Robin Hood and his men.  While it’s questionable whether Robin Hood even existed, it can be said with some certainty that Major Oak was not the meeting place because it would have only been a sapling in the middle ages.  But the fact that this tree has been around for that long in itself is amazing.

Responses

  1. […] I.4.01.1.03. __ Nottingham and Sherwood Forest […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

