Posted by: vikingsinspace | July 18, 2011

VII.17.08. Collect Issues #500-588 of The Fantastic Four

Date Accomplished: 2 March, 2011

Fantastic Four #500

I was not expecting to accomplish this goal so early.  With the storyline of the Fantastic Four leading to the death of the Human Torch, Marvel comics decided to end the comic book.  This essentially meant for me that I had to change the current goal (can’t really collect issues #500-600 when there will be no 589-600…) to reflect the new reality.  However, the essential characters of the fantastic Four will continue under a new title, which is simply FF, and I’m feeling fairly certain that this will eventually be dropped, and the title ‘The Fantastic Four’ will return (I don’t know this for a fact, it just seems to be the way of comic books…).  So I will continue to have comic books to collect for the Fantastic Four (even under a different name) and this has been reflected in my list with the next goal, VII.17.09. Collect Issues #1-100 (FF).  This may need to change as well in case FF doesn’t get to one hundred issues, but I will cross that bridge when I come to it.

Fantastic Four #588

As for these 89 issues of Fantastic Four, I would have to say it has been a good run.  I honestly can’t say I remember all the story lines at this point since I read the monthly comics as they came out, but the stories were always entertaining, and the art-work was excellent.  I do remember at times thinking the far-outedness (if I can mangle my English to describe this comic…) of some of the more recent story lines had gone a bit too far, but the writers and artists eventually reigned everything back in.  As I’m writing this, I have just finished reading issue #588.  I have not seen anything from FF yet, but if the same creative team stays on for that book that finished off The Fantastic Four, then I’m pretty sure I’ll have some good comics from this line to look forward to in the future.

Responses

  1. […] latest.  A few notes on this, as I predicted in my comic collecting post on the Fantastic Four (VII.17.08. Collect Issues #500-588 of The Fantastic Four), Marvel is continuing the title which they discontinued, but starting at issue 600, in addition to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

