Posted by: vikingsinspace | June 20, 2011

I.4.09.02. Visit Rome

Date Accomplished: April 2003

The Colosseum

For my twenty-first birthday, my father and two of my uncles flew out to England (where I was living at the time) to meet up with me and take a week-long trip to Italy.  Rome was the main destination for me (although we had also visited Venice, Turin and a quick drive-through of Florence).  The history of Ancient Rome and the grandeur of the civilization appeals to me.

Roman Forum

I must admit, that I have a hard time remembering what we did in Rome.  We spent a good afternoon just wandering around the Colosseum which was spectacular – even if it is just a ruin today.  I know we went to some of the other ancient sites, such as the Pantheon and spent some time wandering through the Roman Forum, but I can honestly remember little more.  I can say, however, that it was an excellent birthday, and started a somewhat unplanned tradition of my visiting Italy around my birthday (once again to Venice, and to the Amalfi Coast).

Constantine's Arch

Responses

  1. […] I.4.09.02. __ Rome […]

  2. […] like my trip to Rome (see I.4.09.02. Visit Rome), I remember little about what we saw in the Vatican.  Obviously the main attraction is tha […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

