Posted by: vikingsinspace | April 11, 2011

I.4.03.04. Visit Neuschwanstein

Date Accomplished: 5 July 2000

Neuschwanstein

We continued from Frankfurt down south, passing by a few memorable towns such as Nuremberg and Rothenburg; taking the time to stop in these and have a quick look around.  We arrived in Füssen late in the morning of the fifth.  The drive from Füssen out to Neuschwanstein was a little confusing, since the road signs don’t label the castle as ‘Neuschwanstein’ but simply as ‘Konigschloss’ (Which I believe means ‘King’s Castle.’  Please forgive my spelling, I don’t know German and I am doing this from memory…).  We did manage to find the place, and went straight for the ticket kiosk at the bottom of the hill the castle sits on to purchase our tour tickets.  My father and I walked up the mountain to the castle (my sister had been sick the night before so she waited to take a carriage up the hill).  We hadn’t settled on a place to stay for the night, but once my father and I reached the castle, we saw there was a guest house right at the foot, and without thinking about it, my father decided we would stay there for the night (tuned out to be the cheapest accommodation we had the whole trip too – only $50 at the time).

Neuschwanstein Courtyard

So far, this has only been boring preliminary stuff.  My apologies.  Neuschwanstein Castle is absolutely gorgeous, and anyone who has the opportunity to see it, must do so.  It was originally built in the 1870s (just before the American Civil War) by Ludwig II, King of Bavaria, and was unfinished due to the King’s crippled finances, declaration of insanity, and untimely death (quite the trifecta…).  A good portion of it had been finished, and what can be seen on the tour is spectacular.  Sadly, pictures of the interior are not allowed, so I have had to rely on my memory for writing a good portion of this.  Ludwig had everything adorned in an intricate and beautifully artistic style.  The castle itself is an homage to Richard Wagner’s operas (which Ludwig was obsessed with), in particular ‘Lohengrin’ the Swan Knight (Ludwig’s father adopted the Swan as an heraldic animal for his coat of arms, and Ludwig followed suit, feeling a strong connection to Wagner’s fictional Swan Knight).  Many of the rooms of the castle have a different feel to them, such as the throne room which has a very Byzantine quality to it, while Singers’ Hall has a very Romantic/Gothic flavour (murals in this hall are devoted to Wagner’s opera ‘Parzival’).

Mary’s Bridge From Neuschwanstein

I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to visit  Neuschwanstein again in the summer of 2010.  Since it is an historical building, little has changed.  The only thing that stood out to me was the bus which one could take to the castle instead of walking or taking a carriage (the buses may have been available back in 2000, but I don’t remember them).  On this trip, my girlfriend and I took one of the buses up to Mary’s Bridge to get some shots of the castle before going on our tour.  Sadly, it was rainy and misty, so we didn’t get very good pictures, but it was an easy walk from there down to the castle gate.

Hohenschwangau Castle From Neuschwanstein
Responses

  1. […] I.4.03.04. __ Neuschwanstein […]

  2. […] Germany (see I.4.03.01. Visit Frankfurt, I.4.03.02.  See he House Where my Mother Grew Up, and 4.03.04. Visit Neuschwanstein), this post will primarily be about my second trip.  I have so far only been to Germany twice, but […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

