Posted by: vikingsinspace | September 13, 2010

I.4.01.1.28. Visit Brighton and the Royal Pavilion

Date Accomplished: 24 April, 2010 

Brighton Royal Pavilion

On a sunny weekend spent in London, my girlfriend and I decided to take advantage of the weather and head out to Brighton for the day.  This was not only to enjoy a little bit of the sea, but also see the Royal Pavilion there, and thus check off another item on my list.  The Royal Pavilion was built by King George IV while he was regent of the Kingdom when King George III was declared insane, and unable to govern.  It was eventually sold to the city of Brighton by Queen Victoria (who took all the furniture) and later restored in the 1990s (including reclaiming the furniture on a permanent loan from the Royal Collection). 

Royal Pavilion Exterior

By this point I had been getting tired of seeing large and extravagant royal and aristocratic houses, as they all started to look the same to me, and I feared the Royal Pavilion would be the same.  At the very least, the exterior was different and unique, so it had that in its favor, but it was the interior I was worried about.  As for the outside, the Royal Pavilion was designed to look like a palace from the far east, with the Taj Mahal being an obvious comparison/influence.  It was apparently not well received initially, with it being compared to a turnip on a box, but I personally like unique nature of it. 

Inside was outlandishly gorgeous, and unlike any other royal house I have visited.  I was not permitted to take photographs inside, so sadly have none to show, but you will have to trust me that it was an amazing sight.  The first room that really stands out is the Banqueting Room.  In the centre of the room is a large chandelier, being held by a dragon suspended to the ceiling.  Many more dragons are on the chandelier with oil lamps attached to their mouths to give the illusion that they were breathing fire.  The rest of the ceiling of the room is decked out in all sorts of geometric designs in gold-gilt, meant to give the interior a chinese flavor.  On the opposite end of the building is the other stand-out room: The Music Room.  The music room is equally gorgeous to the Banqueting Room, but unfortunately little is original.  An arsonist destroyed this room in 1975, and then just after restoration was complete, one of the minarets from outside came crashing through the room during a hurricane in 1987. 

The West Pier

We spent the rest of the day just walking along the beach and spending time on the pier.  There used to be two piers in Brighton, but one fell into disuse and eventually caught fire (probably an arsonist again…) and has mostly been destroyed.  I had read that there were plans to rebuild the West Pier, but those plans were supposed to have started in 2009, and as of April 2010 I could see no evidence of this work taking place.  But the beach was a good break, and a great excuse to enjoy the sunny weather (and it was so busy that I suppose the rest of London had the same idea).  Both the beach and Royal Pavilion in Brighton were great places to spend the day, and I most definitely was not bored by this particular royal residence (although it was much smaller than I thought it would be…).Incidentally, this is the one hundredth item on my goals list that I have accomplished.  I feel that’s quite an achievement in and of itself.

Responses

  1. […] I.4.01.1.28. __ Brighton (Royal Pavilion) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

