Posted by: vikingsinspace | August 9, 2010

VI.01.01. Read The Lovers of Yvonne

Date Accomplished: ???  

Since this is the first Sabatini novel, and therefore will be the first in my list, I felt it necessary to repeat the Sabatini introduction I included in the first book I read for my Sabatini journal: VI.01.27 The Hounds of God.  Rafael Sabatini is probably my favorite author, and I have vowed to read all of his books.  I had started at one point keeping a reading journal of sorts of the Sabatini books I have read, and I will essentially be reproducing what I have written in that here.  Each entry starts out with quotes I liked from the book; these can be either some philosophical thought that I found intriguing or humorous, or it could simply be a phrase of sorts that was eloquently presented.  Afterward, I’ll write a small portion on my impressions of the book.  For anyone who hasn’t read a book by Sabatini, his “masterpieces” are Scaramouche, Captain Blood and The Sea-Hawk.  For information on the man himself, check out this website.  

The Lovers of Yvonne: Borgo Press Edition  

My Sabatini Journal

“[The vulgar]… are ever ready to sympathize with the vanquished without ever pausing to ask themselves if his chastisement may not be merited.” (27)  

“…he proved himself so utterly bereft of wit by terror that for once he had the temerity to usurp the words and actions of a brave man.” (27)  

“…to reason with a man in love is to reason with one who knows no reason.” (68)  

“In truth, love is like a rabid dog – whom it bites it renders mad.” (82)  

“Fear for myself I have never known, for at no time has life so pampered me that the thought of parting company with it concerned me greatly.” (108)  

“All virtue is madness in a world so sinful.” (141)  

The Lovers of Yvonne

 The Lovers of Yvonne was the first full length novel Sabatini wrote.  It is interesting to see his beginning and how even then he had a taste and a talent for complicated plots and forbidden lovers.  When reading it, one does gain a sense of how hard Sabatini was trying to make this novel a grand swashbuckling adventure: the protagonist, Gaston de Luynes, is over the top in his arrogance, the language is so involved to the point of occasional difficulties in reading, and there is more swordplay here than in any of the other novels I have so far read.  Nonetheless, I still found it very enjoyable.  

I believe the title was originally The Suitors of Yvonne, and why Sabatini changed this, I do not know (Although I could be mistaken and that it is, in reality, the other way around).

Responses

  1. […] VI.01.01. __ The Lovers of Yvonne / The Suitors of Yvonne […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

