Posted by: vikingsinspace | May 3, 2010

I.4.01.1.07. Visit the Lake District

Date Accomplished: September 2009

A Pass

During my summer trips with a car in England (see I.4.01.1.13. Lincoln and I.4.01.1.27. Chatsworth House and Gardens), my girlfriend and I had a spare day, and decided to head down to the Lake District (which is easy to get to by car, but difficult by rail).  Sadly, we had to return the rental car the following day, so this ended up being more of a driving tour of the Lake District rather than doing some hiking as I had wanted.  But oh well, you work with what you’ve got.

A Lake...

We came at the Lakes from the A66 and turned south at some point.  We were initially taking the larger roads, but I decided that since the whole point of the exercise was to have a look around, I jumped at a random turn and just went for it.  Of course, this pissed off my girlfriend who was navigating (and is not very good at reading maps – sorry babe, but you’re not!), but we got to see more lakes and peaks this way, I think.  We eventually found ourselves in Windermere, and realized that Beatrix Potter’s house was just on the other side of the lake.  I’m not a huge fan of Beatrix Potter, but everyone has read Peter Rabbit at some point in their life, so we decided to go for it.  We drove up to Ambleside and around to Hawkshead on some of the narrowest roads I have ever driven in my life…

Gate to Beatrix Potter's Hill Top

There isn’t much to Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top house – just a house that has been preserved to how it was when she lived there.  What was interesting about the place is when they would show some of her illustrations for her books that were based off of areas of her house.  The one that struck me the most was her white gate for some reason – perhaps because that’s a picture I remember more from my childhood.  Who knows.  After touring around for maybe a half hour, we drove back around the lake to Ambleside for dinner, and wandered around on small back roads until we got back to the A66.  A good day all in all, but I hope to get back sometime to do that hiking…

Responses

  1. […] I.4.01.1.07. __ Lake District […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

