Posted by: vikingsinspace | April 19, 2010

VI.01.20. Read Scaramouche

Date Accomplished: Fall 2007

Scaramouche: WW Norton Edition

My Sabatini Journal

“He was born with a gift of laughter and a sense that the world was mad.” (3)

“He knew pretentiousness for the mask of worthlessness and weakness.” (48)

“The gentleman … is the devil; or rather, I should prefer to say upon reflection, that the devil is a gentleman by comparison.” (97-8)

“Surely a man who lived by the sword should have a weakness for the romantic.” (239)

“What a man dares to do, he should dare to confess – unless he is a coward.” (271)

“The motherhood that bears and forsakes is less than animal.” (383)

“Do you expect sincerity in man when hypocrisy is the very keynote of human nature?” (404)

Scaramouche

Scaramouche was just as good reading the second time as it was the first.  I admit to being a little concerned, as I have read many Sabatini books by this point and I was worried that his “formula” may ruin the novelty that Scaramouche was the first time I read it.  This didn’t happen at all.  While true, some of the elements are the same as his other novels (I couldn’t help but draw comparisons to Bellarion which I had just read), the majority is so different and original that it is no wonder Scaramouche is considered Sabatini’s masterpiece.

This novel is so well done and complete that I am awfully curious as to what else Sabatini could possibly say of the characters in the sequel: Scaramouche the King-maker.  I go to read it now, as I don;t believe I have the patience to wait.

Responses

  1. […] VI.01.20. __ Scaramouche […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

