Posted by: vikingsinspace | November 2, 2009

I.4.09.04. __ Visit Pompeii

Date accomplished: 17 April, 2007

Pompeii House

Pompeii House

I visited Pompeii as a day trip during a week-long vacation on the Amalfi coast during Spring Break of my Master’s year.  Myself and five friends rented a villa for the week in the small town of Praiano which is in-between Positano and Amalfi along the course, and so far ranks as one of the best vacations I have yet had.  About halfway through the stay, we all caught a bus from our villa out to Sorrento, and took the circumvesuvius train out to Pompeii.

The thing that is striking about Pompeii is the sheer scope of it.  It is amazing to think that an entire city was covered and preserved by the eruption of Vesuvius, and provides such a remarkable glimpse into the life of the ancient Romans.  As can be seen from the map I created at the time of my visit, I was barely able to get a start of seeing what there is at Pompeii in a whole day (the tourist map gives a better picture of the place than my map, and I stole the image from this great website).

My Pompeii Map
My Pompeii Map
Pompeii Map
Pompeii Map

We had a sunny and hot day for the trip, which just added to the setting.  The amount of mosaics and wall paintings that survived in the houses and buildings were pretty spectacular, and you can almost sense the wealth that this city had.  Of course, one of the spectacular things about the digs at Pompeii is the plaster casts of the bodies of the men and women who died in the eruption.  I only managed to find one of the casts in the city, but it was haunting.  It appeared to be a woman who clearly died in pain.

Plaster Body

Plaster Body

Lupanare Painting

Lupanare Painting

After finding the body near the amphitheatre, we ended up wandering around the perimeter of the site.  We began to realize that we had little time left before we had to catch the train back to Sorrento, so we made our way to the one landmark we really did not want to miss: the Brothel.  The brothel was called the Lupanare, and wasn’t very big.  It had a couple of stone beds in it (which I imagine must have had some coverings to make them a bit more comfortable) and ‘instructional’ paintings left on the wall.  After seeing the Lupanare, we had to leave to catch our train, but it was a fantastic day, and I look forward to when I can return and see the rest of the city.
Streets of Pompeii

Streets of Pompeii

Responses

  1. Great photos 🙂

  2. […] day after visiting Pompeii (See I.4.09.04. Visit Pompeii), I made the trip to Herculaneum with two of my other friends who were with me in Italy.  The […]

  3. […] I.4.09.04. __ Pompeii […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

