Posted by: vikingsinspace | September 4, 2009

IV.01. Smoke a Cuban Cigar

Date accomplished: June 2008 / 2 September 2009

Smoke a cuban cigar.  At the time I’m writing this, I have accomplished this goal several times.  One of the perks of liking in the UK I guess.  My first cuban was a Romeo Y Julieta No. 2 that I smoked with a one of my band mates at the birthday party of another band mate (I got one for each of us, but the vocalist who’s birthday it was didn’t want to smoke the cigar to protect his voice.  Oh well, his loss).  That was a fantastic cigar, and I decided then that I needed to purchase more.

Montecristo No. 2

Montecristo No. 2

 For this post, I decided to go ahead and have another cigar and write my impressions of that.  This being a special occasion, I grabbed one that is considered a cuban legend: the Montecristo No. 2.  This is probably one of the biggest cigars I would consider smoking (I’m more of a robusto or petite corona kinda guy), measuring 6.1 inches with a 52 ring gauge (the ring guage is the measure of the diameter of a cigar in 64ths of an inch).  However, this is also a torpedo/pyramide/belicosos shape (a tapered head, essentially) which I like; particularly with a large ring gauge such as this.  As a heterosexual man, I’m naturally a little weary of large cylindrical objects getting near my mouth.  But I digress…

Smokin'

Smokin'

The No. 2 is a good cigar, but on this particular one, there wasn’t much that blew me away.  It had a woody quality that I believe Montecristos are known for.  And any cigar needs a good drink to go with it.  Usually I’ll pick some sort of Scotch whiskey out, but I decided on this occasion I would go for broke and enjoy a little Havana Club rum: an excellent and sweet complient to any cigar.  I enjoyed the No. 2, but I fear I smoked it too fast because it began to rain on me outside.

While one of the perks of living in the UK is being able to buy these suckers, the disadvantage is smoking conditions.  It is constantly raining here!  Add on to that, the government passed a very strict smoking ban across the country last summer: no smoking in pubs, or any indoor areas unless it is your house.  The arangement I have for my accomodation does not allow me to smoke in my room, but that is just as well since I don’t want to smoke in my room (I enjoy a cigar every now and then, but I don’t want the smell lingering in my room for days…).  So, that leaves me with the outdoors, without even a cover for my head.  Oh well, just something to look forward to when I move back home.

Havana Club

Havana Club

Responses

  1. […] IV.01. __ Smoke a Cuban Cigar […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

